I said goodbye to Gracian, Steve and Vimbai last night (the breaking of the Fellowship!). And since it had calmed down enough that I was able to go into the city I managed to pack in a lot of sightseeing and shopping. The Director of the Institute of Ethiopian Studies, Elisabeth Giorgis, who was recommended to me by Prof. Ayele Bekerie at Cornell, was kind enough to see me on very short notice and have a staff member give me a tour of the Institute’s museum and library, which were the best colections of material on Ethiopia perhaps in the world. They were certinaly impressive and broad, including their setting (Addis Ababa University in the old palace of Haile Selassie). I also saw the National Museum (which houses the skeleton of Lucy, once thought to be the oldest human ancestor (though more ancient remains have been found)). The latter included artwork, belongings of the family of Haile Selassie, and ethnological displays as well. And then of course there was whirlwind shopping! I also got to meet with the head librarian at ILRI, who talked with me about their impressive collections as well (including a collection of approx. 25,000 microfiche of publications on livestock and agriculture from various Africancountries’ national institutes–a rich trove of grey literature they are interested in digitizing). And then I ended the day at another cultural restaurant. Not a bad last day!

